Titanic Goes Deeper

Kate and Leo launch themsleves into three-dimensional theatre-space

Kate and Leo launch themsleves into three-dimensional theatre-space

There’s no stopping Hollywood movie director James Cameron – and I don’t necessarily mean that in a good way… The Hollywood Reporter informs us that he’s now tinkering with the idea of retooling his hit flick Titanic in order to have it re-released in 3-D.

The only aspect of that overlong, overindulgent film that ever appealed to me was its painstaking attention to historical detail. From the wall coverings to the furnishings to the crockery, Cameron saw to it that every detail of the film set was to be a faithful reproduction of the sumptuous, awe-inspiring real thing.

I didn’t care much for Cameron’s trumped-up, cross-class love affair between the working-class Leo DiCaprio and upper-class Kate Winslet, and I certainly could’ve done without Celine Dion’s heart (and high-pitched wailing) going on and on and on…

Cameron is a far better technician than he is a director. And if you don’t believe me, watch that superb 1958 British movie about the Titanic, A Night to Remember, and work out for yourself how many shots Cameron felt he needed to steal from it in order to enhance his product.

Would I visit my nearest 3-D cinema to see this dimensionally-enhanced Titanic? I would indeed. In his pursuit of technical and historical perfection, Cameron turned the backdrop of his movie into a living museum. And, if you’re in the business of duplicating reality, then stereoscopic 3-D is but a natural progression.

So, yes, I will endure this overblown epic again, because I believe that stepping on board the Titanic in stereoscopic, big-screen realism will be a thrill in much the same way as my childhood visits to the museum were. My little heart would tremble with excitement, as I knew that would be entering into other realities, far distant in time and geography from my orderly suburban existence. So bring it then, Mr Cameron, and I promise to sit through all 194 minutes of it. Although I can’t promise not to squirm during Celine Dion’s caterwauling…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

